Tags

, ,

I made two pizzas tonight from the same batch of dough as yesterday, only now the dough has had a two day ferment…  I should mention these are all about 285g dough balls.

I changed the oven set up:  I moved the oven rack down one notch and placed the 1/2 inch Baking Steel directly on top of a 1″ terracotta paving stone.  I set the oven to “high” and preheat for 1 hour.  The oven hit a maximum of about 280C, a bit higher than yesterday’s high temperatures of about 255C.  This is in our domestic electric static oven.  The oven temperature still seems a bit low for some reason.

What toppings do you want on your pizza?

What toppings do you want on your pizza?

Tonight I pulled the pizza dough out of the fridge at the same time I turned on the oven, so the dough was shaped and had a final proof for about 45 minutes before I baked the first pie.  The first dough ball was still very elastic and not as extensible as I would have liked.

Pizza Margherita

Pizza Margherita

The pizza was launched onto the pizza stone at the beginning of the heating cycle.  Pizza baked for approximately 6 minutes with oven set on “bake.”  Good oven spring on cornicione.  Some light leopard spotting on crust.

Pizza con Taleggio, Prosciutto Crudo, e Salt Cured Caper.

Pizza con Taleggio, Prosciutto Cotto, e Salt Cured Caper.

The pizza was launched at the beginning of the heating cycle.  Pizza baked for approximately 6 minutes.  Good oven spring on cornicione.  Some light leopard spotting on crust.

With this oven set up on the second highest rack, the pizza stone ends up a bit farther from the top element, aproximately 10cm below.  I would most likely get a better result by moving the pizza stone closer to the top element.

