Tags

, , , ,

I picked up a couple of whole, uncleaned squid at the market today.  I cleaned the squid, then cut the mantle flat and cross-cut them into quarters.  The legs I simply cut in half.

I made a simple marinade of olive oil, diced red chiles, crushed garlic, fresh grated ginger, salt & pepper.  I mixed the squid bits with the marinade by hand, working the marinade into all the lovely cross-cuts and put it in the fridge while I set up the BBQ.

Time to fire up The Mighty Hibachi!

Chargrilling over hardwood charcoal gives good flavour.

Chargrilling over hardwood charcoal gives good flavour.

When cooking squid, you either cook it quickly over a high heat or long and slow.  I chose to grill over direct heat.  The mantle cooked in less than 2 minutes.  The legs can stand a bit more heat, so I cooked them for about 6 minutes, turning every couple of minutes or so.  DO NOT OVERCOOK!

Chargrilled squid

Chargrilled squid

Served with a lemon cheek, garlic bread, and lightly dressed baby spinach.  Well, it turns out I overdressed the greens.  I blame the beer.

The squid was tender and sweet, with a wonderful smoky flavour from the direct grilling over hardwood charcoal.  Simply delicious.

